Home Heart Health News Apple reveals new Series 4 Apple Watch, with heart-health features

Apple reveals new Series 4 Apple Watch, with heart-health features

2 min read

Apple introduced its Series 4 Apple Watch, a new model focusing on health, on Wednesday.

The Series 4, which Chief Operating Officer Jeff Williams called “the ultimate guardian for your health,” has the ability to sense when a watch wearer falls and three new heart-health features that received a nod from the American Heart Association and regulatory approval form the Food and Drug Administration.

Apple presented the new watch at the Steve Jobs Theater in Cupertino on Wednesday morning.

The new watch includes features that can detect when a wearer falls, giving them the option to call for help. If the watch senses that the person is immobile for a minute, it will automatically call for help and include location data.

Some observers on Twitter noted that these features could make it popular with buyers worried about their parents’ or grandparents’ well-being.

This might be my new all-time favorite Apple slide: the many ways to fall down pic.twitter.com/EMM9MP0xKS

— David Pierce (@pierce) September 12, 2018

Automatic fall detection coupled with automatic emergency phone call. Lots of grandparents are getting an Apple Watch this Christmas.

— Benedict Evans (@BenedictEvans) September 12, 2018

The Series 4 watch, which costs $399 or more, also includes three new heart features — a notification if a person’s heart rate is too low, if there are irregular rhythm indicating Atrial fibrillation and an electrocardiogram.

Related Stories

This is the first EKG-capable watch available over the counter with clearance from the FDA, according to Apple.

Sophia Kunthara is a San Francisco Chronicle staff writer. Email: [email protected] Twitter: @SophiaKunthara

Source link

Want more stuff like this?

Get the best viral stories straight into your inbox!

Don’t worry we don’t spam

Check Also

Why an Apple Watch with EKG matters

The Apple Watch Series 4 will include a more advanced heart-monitoring technology called e…